Tohu Harris wins Simon Mannering Medal at Warriors awards night

Kim Dotcom can be extradited, Supreme Court rules. But wait, there’s more …
November 4, 2020
No Excuses Body Makeover: Fat Loss Membership
November 4, 2020

Tohu Harris had his best season yet for the Warriors in 2020.

Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Tohu Harris had his best season yet for the Warriors in 2020.

Tohu Harris has won Simon Mannering Medal to be the Warriors’ player of the year for 2020, ending Roger Tuivasa-Sheck’s three-year stranglehold.

The 28-year-old Harris also won the player’s player of the year on Wednesday night at the club’s awards night, which took place at Mt Smart Stadium.

It was an outstanding season for the Hastings born Harris, who joined the Warriors from the Storm in 2018. This was the first season where he hadn’t been hampered by injuries and he became the club’s key player among the forwards, also making the NRL’s team of the year.

Over the regular season, he ranked fifth among all players for most post-contact metres (1339) and seventh for most metres gained (3465), for an average of 173 metres a game, the fourth best among all forwards.

* NRL: Re-signing Tohu Harris top priority for Warriors as other clubs can start negotiations
* Roger Tuivasa-Sheck wins captain award, Jack Wighton shock Dally M winner after announcement blunder
* Stuff’s Warriors awards for 2020 season
* Warriors reveal master plan for 2021 if forced to be based in Australia again

Tuivasa-Sheck, who by the end of the season was the only the Warriors player separated from his family, won the People’s Choice player of the year and the clubman of the year.

Jamayne Taunoa-Brown was the Warriors' rookie of the season for 2020.

Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

Jamayne Taunoa-Brown was the Warriors’ rookie of the season for 2020.

The fullback didn’t have his best season for the Warriors, but his leadership was outstanding, playing a key role in keeping the players motivated during a campaign where they were forced to be based in Coffs Harbour.

Over the 20 rounds of the NRL season, Tuivasa-Sheck made the most metres (3974) and runs (398) of all players in the competition while he was second for most average metres (221).

Prop Jamayne Taunoa-Brown won the award for the rookie of the year, in what was probably a close race with Eliesa Katoa.

Taunoa-Brown was initially on a train and trial deal before twice being upgraded on a contract that takes him through to the end of the 2022 season.


Warriors awards

  • People’s Choice Award – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
  • Rookie of the Year – Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
  • Clubman of the Year – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Tohu Harris
  • Simon Mannering Medal – Tohu Harris

Previous player of the year winners

  • 1995 Tea Ropati
  • 1996 Stephen Kearney
  • 1997 Stacey Jones
  • 1998 Joe Vagana
  • 1999 Jason Death
  • 2000 Robert Mears
  • 2001 Jerry Seuseu
  • 2002 Ali Lauitiiti
  • 2003 Francis Meli
  • 2004 Wairangi Koopu
  • 2005 Ruben Wiki
  • 2006 Steve Price
  • 2007 Steve Price
  • 2008 Simon Mannering
  • 2009 Micheal Luck
  • 2010 Manu Vatuvei
  • 2011 Simon Mannering
  • 2012 Ben Matulino
  • 2013 Simon Mannering
  • 2014 Simon Mannering
  • 2015 Ben Matulino
  • 2016 Simon Mannering
  • 2017 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
  • 2018 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Simon Mannering Medal)
  • 2019 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Simon Mannering Medal)
  • 2020 Tohu Harris (Simon Mannering Medal)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *